How did you get good?

Chat about stuff that doesn't fall into the other categories here.
abitwindy
Been liked: 4 times

How did you get good?

Post by abitwindy » Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:38 pm

Hi Judging from a lot of the posts on here most of you guys are at a very good level of sailing.
Ive been windsurfing for ten years now and still not gybing very well (inside only about 50 percent), tacks are ok on bigger boards.
In that ten years I've moved house three times, had three kids and started a business.(also kite surfed for two of those years).
This is the year for me to try and progress , the last move has landed me across the road from the beach.

So im guessing that most of you have had years of windsurfing pre children or just are super wealthy with flexible jobs? ;)

Arf
Site Admin
Has liked: 82 times
Been liked: 64 times

Re: How did you get good?

Post by Arf » Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:55 pm

I wouldn't class myself as 'good', but different people have different strengths and weaknesses I think.
I started 9 years ago, I worked from home, wife worked all day, and we had no dog. So, I could go to the beach every day it was windy, and I learnt quickly as a result (was doing roughly 100 sessions a year!)
Also, I have surfed my whole life (mostly In Cape Town till I left when I was 21) so I was already comfortable in waves.
When I was learning I also used to destroy kit like nothing else - I was very good at catapulting :lol: This stood me in good stead when I started learning loops though. They're like pain-free ultracatapults.
My gybing is still dodgy, tacks nearly always fail, but I can work around that :-)

Now we have a big puppy and business is busier, so I don't get out nearly as much, in fact around 10 times a year tops for the last 2 years, which is sickening. Need to improve fitness and learn to tack, those are my goals for this year.

TOTD
Been liked: 21 times

Post by TOTD » Mon Mar 11, 2019 4:10 pm